(407) 896-0035
2121 Camden Road Suite B
Orlando, FL 32803
(407) 896-0035
2121 Camden Road Suite B
Orlando, FL 32803
Jim Ely
Jim Ely
 HNTB Corporation

1276 Metropolitan Boulevard, Suite 304
Tallahassee, FL 32312

IBTTA Past President

M: 850-619-0264

Mr. Ely is a past president of the International Bridge, Tunnel and Turnpike Association. He also serves on the board of the Transportation and Expressway Authority Members of Florida and served on the executive board of the Florida Department of Transportation.

Mr. Ely served as the former executive director of Florida's Turnpike Enterprise, where he oversaw the nation's third-largest turnpike system in revenue and fourth largest in size with 460 centerline miles. Under his leadership, 143 miles of new turnpike segments were built or acquired while traffic increased fivefold to more than two million people per day.

Calling upon industry experience, Mr. Ely works with departments of transportation considering tolling programs and with toll agencies as they transform their operations using private-sector methods to achieve public-sector missions.

Mr. Ely holds a Doctorate on Public Administration from Nova University Center for the Study of Administration, a Masters in Education from Georgia State University, a Masters in Business Administration from the University of West Florida and a Bachelors of Science in Business Administration/Marketing from the University of West Florida.

Mr. Ely has been recognized for his achievements with the following awards:

  • 2007 CUTR Transportation Achievement Award (Person of the Year in Transportation) — University of South Florida Center for Urban Transportation Research, 2007
  • Distinguished Alumnus, National Alumni Association — University of West Florida, 2007
  • One of the 174 "Most Influential Floridians" — Florida Trend magazine, 2004
  • Public Service Award — American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, 2004
  • Ben G. Watts Award — Florida Department of Transportation, 1999
  • Jay W. Brown Award — Florida Department of Transportation, 1995 
Copyright © 2014 Team FL. All rights reserved.